The torture and murder of 6 year old Arthur.

Altair

Web Master
Reaction score
Nature V's Nurture?...How does a 'Cell' deal with an energy crisis?. It is virtually impossible to understand how 'Biology' works outside the context of environment.

One of the most crazy making yet wide spread and potentially dangerous notions is "Oh that behaviour IS genetic".. What does that mean?

It means all sorts of subtle stuff.. if you study modern biology, but for most people out there, it means 'A' A Deterministic view of life.. One rooted in Biology and Genetics.. Gene's equal things that can't be changed, Gene's equal things that are inevitable and that you might as well not waste resources trying to fix.. Might as well not put any energy into trying to improve because it's 'inevitable' and it's unchangeable....That is sheer nonsense.

C

CrazyCatLady

Like everyone else, this case really affected me. Do what I do for a living, I'd been following it from the first news stories and have never cried so much in years. However, what I'm about to say about this will not be popular!

Social Services....absolutely, no way on Earth they acted appropriately. ANY Social Worker should have seen that the bruise in the pictures was not caused by an accident- way, way too big and too deep of an injury to be caused by a fall on to toys while playing with another child. It was also clear from the picture in the colouring that there was more than one bruise (you could see the edges of a healing bruise underneath the new bruise). However, out of all the evidence that there was to indicate he was being abused, this was the only piece of solid evidence that S.S had. Everything else was via reporting from others, which (and I'm not excusing S.S) can have another motive and this is something Social Workers have to sift through. False reporting to S.S is very common from ex-partners and warring family members & neighbours.